Sunday, December 21, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 


Reed must wait until next year

  • Text size: + -

Andre Reed will have to wait another year. Seven men will be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. And for the seventh straight year, the former Bills receiver came up just short. Reed made it to the final ten for the fourth straight year.

He's been victim of a very deep field of eligible wide receivers. Watching those highlights never gets old. Reed was a driving force in those Super Bowl runs two decades ago. He finished his career with 951 catches, more than 13,000 yards, and 87 touchdowns.

From the Pro Football Hall of Fame:

CANTON, OHIO – The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee held its annual selection meeting today and elected seven individuals to the Class of 2013. Bringing the total number of members in the Hall of Fame to 280 are guard/tackle Larry Allen, wide receiver Cris Carter, defensive tackle Curley Culp, tackle Jonathan Ogden, coach Bill Parcells, linebacker Dave Robinson, and defensive tackle Warren Sapp.

Today’s annual selection meeting was held in New Orleans, La., site of Super Bowl XLVII. The newest members of the Hall of Fame were selected from a list of 17 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee.

Allen, a member of the NFL’s All-Decade Teams of the 1990s and 2000s, earned first-team All-Pro honors seven straight times. In all, he played 14 seasons with the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers.

Carter amassed 1,101 catches for 13,899 yards and 130 touchdowns during his 16-season NFL career. He recorded eight straight 1,000-yard seasons and had 42 career games with 100 or more receiving yards.

Culp was a defensive stalwart for 14 seasons, most notably with the Kansas City Chiefs and Houston Oilers. A six-time Pro Bowler, he was named the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year by NEA in 1975 after helping lead Houston to its first winning season in eight years.

Ogden, the first-ever draft pick of the Baltimore Ravens, excelled for 12 seasons. A strong pass protector and run blocker, he was named All-Pro six times, voted to 11 Pro Bowls and selected to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s.

Parcells turned around the fortunes of four franchises and remains the only coach ever to lead four different teams to the playoffs. Overall, he won 183 games that include victories in two Super Bowls.

Robinson, a vital cog in Vince Lombardi’s tough Green Bay Packers defenses, earned first-team All-NFL acclaim three times and was voted to the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 1960s. He intercepted 27 passes in his 12-season career.

Sapp recorded 96.5 sacks in his career with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders. He was named All-Pro four times, voted to seven Pro Bowls, and was selected to the NFL’s All-Decade Teams of the 1990s and 2000s.

Allen, Carter, Culp, Ogden, Parcells, Robinson, and Sapp will be formally enshrined into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, Aug. 3, 2013. The Enshrinement Ceremony takes place at Fawcett Stadium in Canton and will be televised live by both NFL Network and ESPN.

The annual NFL/Hall of Fame Game which kicks off the NFL’s preseason will be played on Sunday, Aug. 4. Teams have not yet been announced.

The Enshrinement Ceremony is the marquee event of the annual Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival which consists of 18 public events over an 11-day period.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is celebrating its 50th anniversary and as a part of the year-long celebration the 2013 Enshrinement Festival will include a special Golden Anniversary Reunion of previously elected Hall of Fame members. As many as 130 Hall of Fame legends are expected to attend this year’s Enshrinement Ceremony.

Enshrinement tickets are on sale now. Ticket information can be found on the Hall of Fame’s website at

This year, the Pro Football Hall of Fame is partnering with NFL On Location, the League’s event experience and hospitality source, to offer exclusive fan packages to the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival and Golden Anniversary Celebration. The all-inclusive event experience fan packages include exclusive opportunities such as VIP seating at the Enshrinement Ceremony. Fan packages may be purchased through NFL On Location by calling (888) 310-HALL (4255) or visit Packages are serviced by Sports Travel and Tours, the official travel partner of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Fan packages will be available for purchase on Monday, Feb. 4, 2013 at 9:00 a.m. ET. ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP